If you’ve read my previous posts you’ll already know I’ve admitted to being a Dr.Laura listener. Alright, alright, I know that could get me some flack from people for that confession. I am conservative when it comes to my own values and beliefs about families, raising children, parenthood, marriage, but around my neighborhood I could be considered quite liberal.  I will not be delving further into the debatable issues today.

To continue with my point, I was listening to Dr. Laura yesterday and happened upon a very appropriate and eye-opening call. A woman was calling because she was unhappy. Her husband and herself had discussed children before they were married and both wanted a couple or a few. But after her first child was born, her husband changed his mind and doesn’t want any more. She was upset about this because while she loves her son, she has always wanted more. Dr. Laura opened the discussion by commenting, “Do you know how many infertile women out there today would gladly trade places with you in an instant?” Basically, her advice was to quit “bitching” and be happy with what you have.

I’ll admit that I sort of felt sorry for the caller. If she wants more children, why did the husband just get to change his mind all of a sudden and decide for the both of them? But as Dr. Laura pointed out, many of us women who cannot get pregnant or who have little chance of getting pregnant, would do almost anything just for the opportunity for one. It is a true lesson in finding happiness with what you have been dealt in life. There are many things we find we cannot control. When that happens, looking for the unique, the positive, the blessing, the sliver of light that can be our chance for fulfillment.

Matt and I have often toyed with the idea of what our lives would be like without children. Looking on the bright side, it would be peaceful and responsibility free (or that’s how it can be perceived). I once looked in a small homes magazine and picked out this great mountain cabin that I LOVED. It had a small sitting area, kitchen, dining area, and a loft for the bedroom. The whole place was lit up with natural light from the tall ceiling capped with never-ending skylights. It was a tiny, gorgeous  house. Matt and I daydreamed that if we couldn’t have children, we’d save all our money and build a quaint little house like that. We could live anywhere we wanted.  We’d both be working, and the only thing to do with the money is travel, play, explore, buy toys, and invest for a lovely retirement. Sounds perfect? Not quite. Of course, raising children still seems ideal for my future, but if not? I think I could be happy.